Chattanooga Mountains Stage Race: Day 3, Signal Mountain, 20 Miles

Day 3: Signal Mountain, 20 miles, 2696 ft of climbing

It was here.  Day 3.  The final stage of my adventure.  Waking up and getting out of bed was bittersweet.  I was ready to be finished but I also didn’t want it to end so quickly.

IMG_1434Prerace we had to check out of our hotel and I again had a hard time stepping down curbs and getting into the truck.  I downed a Clif Builders Bar and a banana for breakfast along with some coffee.  We arrived at the Signal Mountain High School’s soccer pavilion.  It was a really nice facility – perfect venue for a trail race (near where the annual Stump Jump is held too).  We arrived very early so I had time to do some stretching and work out the prerace jitters.  I was surprisingly nervous.  I knew that this was the hardest stage, often times people add on 1.5-2 minutes per mile on this challenging trail.  I hugged Justin and Bosco and lined up at the start.  I was a little closer to the front this time with my newly found confidence.

Bosco's Hug
Bosco’s Hug

20130616_075938

signalmap

 

Before I knew it I was running again, the first two days had flown by and now day three had begun.  I’d heard about this stage and seen the elevation profile.  This one was serious.  Within about 2 miles you start a gnarly descent into Suck Creek.  It’s actually a descent to a suspension bridge, a climb out, a descent to Suck Creek Road, and turn around and the same in reverse.  There’s an aid station at the bottom.  This part was wrecking me.  I knew I wanted to run strong and give it everything – that strategy worked well for the day prior (zen pacing and all).  But hopping off boulders for an 800’ descent then back up and back down on super technical trails, I didn’t know…I did know that walking up the steep sections was perfectly acceptable in my book.

stage3pic4
Running and then… (photo credit: Mark McKnight)
stage3pic5
Walking (photo credit: Mark McKnight)

We did get the chance to pass fellow runners on the trail which was encouraging.  Even in heavy breathing state, we all muttered words of encouragement to one another.  I got to see how effortlessly David Riddle (the winner and course record setter) and the following men blazed up the mountain.  I also realized I was 3rd female at this point.  Not for long – 2nd place overall finisher Meredith Smith came hauling by me.  Sections of this thing were so steep that you could reach out and touch the rocks in front of you.  Still the happy trail runners were conversing and having a good time.  I was just glad that according to the topo map this was the biggest climb of the day and it was over within 6 miles of running.

Back to mushroom rock where we had ventured off onto that twisted excursion down and up and down and up and I was happy to be on relatively flat terrain.  This trail is on the top of a ridge along Suck Creek and astonishingly beautiful.  You can glimpse the Tennessee River and the tributaries.  You can see the amazing rock faces that make up the gorge.  But don’t look for too long or you’ll bust your ass.

stage3pic8
This is the trail…sooo pretty.  Photo credit: Mark McKnight

I was able to run most of this part, from mushroom rock to the aid station at Edwards Point (9.4 miles in).  There were a couple of steep turns over drainages that caused me to slow.  I was again alone on the trail and really liked being alone.  I occasionally would come up to another runner and run with them for a little spell then they’d give me the trail.

After Edwards Point (where they had the chilliest water I’ve ever tasted) the trail turned more technical.  It started to undulate and descend down beneath Signal Mountain.  It was beautiful and rocky in this section.  I knew the aid station was a couple miles up the mountain, so that was motivating.  When the trail started climbing up to Signal Point, it got insanely rocky such that your stride was never quite completely full.  You had to tiptoe on the flattest section of rock that you could find and pay very close attention to what was underfoot.  My legs were feeling somewhat spry and easy to pick up for being this far into the race.  I knew the 11.8 mile aid station meant that I only had 8.2 miles left in this whole entire race!  That’s just a small section when compared to the entire 60 miles.  That was motivating in itself.  Not to mention that Signal Point would mark another high point elevation wise in the course and would be followed by a nice descent to Middle Creek.

Almost to the top! (Photo credit: Mark McKnight)
Up and up and up (photo credit: Jeff Bartlett)
Up and up and up (photo credit: Jeff Bartlett)

The trail turned steeper and became rock steps and then wooden steps and after passing one of the photographers, I was relieved when he said “you’re past the hardest part.”  Now he was a really nice guy, but I have to say that the hard part hadn’t really yet begun.  But it was still something to help me along the course.  I stopped at the Signal Point aid station, quickly took in the view of what I’d just run down and up and grabbed some cold water and headed out onto a neighborhood paved road.

Aid Station View (photo credit: Mark McKnight)
Aid Station View (photo credit: Mark McKnight)

Uphill pavement was very interesting.  Running with a consistent grade and surface was a change.  I saw the #3 woman in front of me and was motivated to try to hang with her.  We turned near what I would guess was a retirement home and these sweet old folks were sitting on the porch in their rocking chairs cheering!  It was so sweet and made me very happy.  They were complete with claps and yells…all 20 of them.

The trail began again as a swift gravel downhill.  At the top there was a nice wooden sign that had a poem about a prayer of the woods.  I wish I’d had time to read it, but I thought of how it would go as I ran down the path in the beautiful forest.  This trail started to parallel a golf course and I was thinking about how different my trail running hobby is different from their hobby — me suffering and sweating and the plaid clothed men having a good time out on the golf course enjoying a sunny Sunday morning.  I used this easy portion of trail to down a few Endurolytes and chug some water.

The trail was flowing and nice until it hit a few overhanging rock faces and it got progressively more overgrown, hard to follow, and downright technical.  While in the beginning I was thinking about how fun it’d be to bike on the trail, by the middle, I wasn’t sure I could hardly hike the trail!  It was an arm workout, swinging across eroded rocky gullies by overhanging branches.  It was dark, lush, damp, and the Middle Creek was loud and cascading to my right.  It was majestic and beautiful and again I was all alone – feeling like I was the only one that’d been out there except for the occasional muddy footprint and the yellow Rock Creek flags that were positioned every ½ mile or so.

Middle Creek
Middle Creek (you can faintly make out the trail on the left)

There were times when I wondered if I was off the trail, but then I’d see a beat down section or broken branch and realize I was in the right spot.  I tried not to think about all the snakes that would’ve been under the multitude of rocks that we were jumping around, on, and over.  I ran under some impressive rock faces, mostly overhanging and sandstone.  Times the overhang would drip water right into the running path and you’d get a nice cool refreshing drizzle down your head.

This section lasted a long time.  As it climbed out of the gorge it wound through poison ivy (that I’d have quite the reaction to over the next week around my ankles and knees), more rocks, and other lush growth.  Finally, oh finally, I saw a mountain biker on the trail.  He cheered and said I looked strong and said the “Guardrail” aid station was just a quarter mile ahead.  “You’re 16.4 miles in” the aid station helper reminded me.  Only 3.6 more miles to go.  That’s when it set in and while maintaining my zen pace, I started to tingle a little bit.  I was going to do this and chances were good for me to place 4th overall and win my age group.  Holy cow.

I gulped down a gel as the trail became smoother double track.  I was so thankful to be able to run freely again.  But I also realized that that last section of trail would be likely the last deep woods singletrack that I’d experience within this adventure.

The roadbed was fairly easy, climbing a bit and some big puddles.  I saw some faint figures in the distance and realized it was my two sweethearts!  Justin and Bosco!  They cheered and I said hi and asked him if I’d see them at the end.

Kept on running and saw a few figures in front of me as I thought we were getting close.  I chatted with them for a minute about what the end was like.  They let me know that we wouldn’t be running on the pavement like the Stump Jump course which I was thankful for because it was getting into the mid-high 80s and very, very humid and sunny.  I was soaked in sweat.  I ran with them for a while.  They’d power down the downhills (usually my trait, but I used restraint for my tired joints) then I’d catch up on the climbs.  After the trail crossed the gravel road, I realized we must be getting close so I wanted to ‘kick’ with whatever I had left.  I passed the two nice guys and picked up the pace to what seemed to still be kind of slow.  A few twists and turns and watching my step so I wouldn’t bust my butt at the end, I saw Justin and Bosco again as the trail opened up onto the pavement.

Sweet Jacket!
Sweet Jacket!

I saw the soccer fields and was overjoyed with a sense of great accomplishment.  The kind of hair standing up, heart racing, lets get to the finish line feeling.  I raced – I gave it all I had.  I was running and feeling strong and graceful and dodging the big flags on the side of the soccer field.  A gust of wind came and capow! I was smacked in the face with one of the flags and my visor flipped off the back of my head.  No way I was picking that thing up.  I could see the finish!  So I kept on sans visor.  Crossed the line “One of our top female finishers, Paige Witherington”.  Hooray!!  And the nice gentleman behind me collected my visor and gave it back to me.  I took off my shoes, soaked for a quick minute in the ice bath, drank a recoverite, collected my finisher’s jacket and watched the screen.  I did it!  4th overall and winner of my age group!  I finished the 60 miles in 9 hours and 39 minutes over 3 fun, challenging days.

20130616_120350

Stoked to have finished!
Stoked to have finished!

 

We headed over to Justin’s cousin’s house and celebrated with a few beers.  We went to the Flying Squirrel in Chattanooga for some tapas and ran into the race directors (Kris impressively remembered my name…she’s amazing at making all the runners feel a part of the community).  Then back to the farm to prepare for a busy week.  Surprisingly after stretching, bending over, walking, and harvesting on Monday morning I managed to become less stiff and sore and felt pretty great by Tuesday.

A HUGE thank you to Randy and Kris Whorton and Wild Trails and Rock/Creek and all the sponsors and volunteers and UltraSignUp.  The courses were very well marked (every time I thought I may be lost I’d see a flag in the distance), the aid stations were well stocked and efficient, the courses were beautiful and diverse, and the results were up in a flash.  Thank you!

Now that I’m finally finishing this lengthy article and have received my finishers award, I look back on that adventure so fondly.  It was a milestone for me, it helped me to understand how my body and mind work together and helped me overcome self doubt and replace it with self confidence.  I’ve learned that while training properly is a huge part of this endurance athletic stuff, a strong mind and a passion for the sport and being out in the nature goes a long way.  I’m proud to be a runner and proud to be a part of such an incredible community.

Sweet Age Group Award
Sweet Age Group Award
Muddy feet
Muddy feet

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑